IN MEMORIAM: YOAV BEN-DOV

Yoav Ben-Dov, author, scientist, and a fellow tarotist just died unexpectedly of cardiac arrest at 59. So it goes.

I liked his kindness and he liked my fairness.

I also liked Yoav’s dedication to the tarot and truth.

When the University of Tel Aviv didn’t want to give him tenure, because they didn’t think that quantum physics and the tarot belong together, Yoav chose the Tarot. Because he thought that they do belong together.

Science is a tool that has many limitations. The Tarot is a tool that has few limitations. What is an intelligent man to do? Go with the tarot, of course.

Few, however, have the courage to follow the path that makes sense, not the path that gives you an image. I honor this type of stamina. It sets a good example.

As Yoav reconstructed the Marseille Tarot (Nicholas Cover, 1760), I sat for a while today with his cards, asking them for a special message just for me:

I got these:

The Page of Batons, The Moon, the Pope, Justice

yoav ben-dov, camelia elias, in memoriam

I take this message from these cards:

Young people are confused. They need spiritual guidance towards the truth.

Right. I’ll do my best.

Thank you for your work and inspiration, Yoav. May you continuously shine, and teach us kindness.

Cards:  Yoav Ben-Dov, CBD Marseille Tarot, 2011.

NEWSLETTER

Stay in the loop. Join The Art of Reading. Get a gift: Read Like the Devil: A Crash Course.

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Lovely. I like the simplicity and directness of the message you were given.

  2. That was a lovely tribute to Yoav, Camelia. Thank you.

  3. First Frank and now this. Truly a time of change. Such a power bridging voice between the worlds of TdM and RWS. His deck is still a much loved go to deck and book. Wow. I can’t even begin to process this right now

  4. Thank you for finding appropriate words for such loss. Your reading his cards to his end would have been sweet to him.

  5. I will be in tel aviv at the end of december and in january in jerusalem and safed. would like to meet anyone that was working with yoav at the intersection of science and tarot as well as with therapy cards. may he continue his journey. lourdes

  6. I´ve added this link to a posting I´m making about him on my edublogs, thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

