TRUTH AND BEAUTY

I must be on a roll. I keep getting questions for clarification and appreciations from folks, related to the theme of being truthful in a reading session. Thank you people, for engaging with these texts (Card Readers and Truth in Cards)

So, here’s what I’ve just told someone:

There is Truth and then there is Beauty. In my teachings on cards I always tell my students that it’s important in a reading session to get a sense of balance between two skills: the ability to tell the truth and the ability to make it beautiful. Often people don’t distinguish between these, with some seeing truth as devoid of compassion, and which ultimately hurts, or beauty as full of insipid new age tendencies of the ‘love and community’ kind, and which ultimately says nothing. We come across all sorts.

But how does one get a sense of what one is doing, so we don’t end up as readers accusing each other of doing the wrong thing, or of being either insensitive, or too loose in our approach? Here’s a little exercise. As all the cards can be employed for meta-work, or the work with cards that makes us reflect on our work with the cards, we can use them to tell us something about our temperaments and tendencies. I’ve just used The Dark Goddess Tarot to illustrate my point. I asked the cards:

Who embodies truth for me? Who embodies beauty?

Generally, the cards that fall on the table can give one a pretty good idea as to how one fares in the department of discernment and what may be needed to fulfil the highest, namely, the passing of a message in a non-judgmental way; a message that is useful, well balanced and strong.

For Truth, Durga showed herself. The Hindu Fierce Goddess says: ‘Rise up or the demons win.’ For Beauty, I got Mami Wata, the Igbo Goddess of Ardor and Fidelity. She says: ‘Dance for yourself, for your tribe, for me.’ What can I say, I’m very happy with these two goddesses, as I see them precisely at work in all my reading sessions.

IMG_0087

Keep going, tell the truth and make it beautiful.

§

Note on the deck:

The Dark Goddess, by Ellen Lorenzi-Prince, 2013, ArnellArt.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. rohinibabe@aol.com July 12, 2014 — 4:47 am

    Keatsian words to live by!

Leave a Reply

