CIRCLE SPLENDOR SOLIS

IMG_8426
Splendor solis in my city apartment

Cards and focus. When in doubt, sit in a circle. Reading cards in a circle enables a different kind of storytelling than in the one-on-one situation. For once, there’s the ritual of beginning the circle. This can be simple or theatrical. Each has its function. Everyone participating, while taking her seat on animal hides, can think of the connection to the earth. Sitting in a circle equals grounding.

Then there’s the dedication to formulating a common aim. This type of formulation, or a similar one will do: ‘In this circle today, we will take this issue by its horns.’ Randomly distributed cards among the sitters can also have the function of grounding the issue. How clear is people’s vision? Can they put it into words? Often it helps to embody the situation in the cards. Nothing can be more grounding or commonsensical than getting a distinct impression of what one needs to do, all this by simply imitating the characters depicted on the cards.

IMG_8430Often also there’s no conflict of interests. ‘Do I have to embody the Tower’, someone can ask, upon seeing the lightening striking the tall building. ‘Yes, give it a shout, shatter these windows, you might answer. ‘Do I need to hang now,’ another can ask, and here the answer might be, ‘swing like a pendulum, lose the sense of where your head is.’ In a circle we are all into applied philosophy of action. That’s the magic.

Thirdly, the circle enables the sitters to control the commonly formulated intent by listening attentively to one another. ‘How does what she says, the one sitting across me, apply to how I see it? Common sense turns into common story.

IMG_8424The ringing of a bell can mark the shift to closing the circle. Drink some sacred water that the host might make. Eat fresh fruit in gratitude. If you have a tree nearby your house, say your goodbyes by standing for a moment under its branches. Think of expansion. Think of the expansion that begins with the circle. A circle is like the big splendor of the sun, splendor solis.

It is not difficult to focus. Ring your bells and send out your invitations. Consecrate, dedicate, fabricate. Make a good blend out of the stories that people bring to the circle. And learn. These are my strategies for hosting a good circle. Throw some cards into it, and you’ll be ready to become a scribe. Of your own and others’ lives.

Enjoy your round life stories.

§

Note on the deck: Reproduction of Naipes Heraclio Fournier’s 1860 cards. J. Gaudais, Paris, 1986

IMG_8427 IMG_8420 IMG_8421 IMG_8423 IMG_8422 IMG_8425

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. rohinibabe@aol.com June 3, 2014 — 10:55 pm

    Marvelous, Camelia! Maralyn

  2. SOME COMMENTS LEFT ON FB:

    Dana Komjaty: Would love to participate in one of your sacred circle’s, you won’t be doing one in Amsterdam any time soon are you
    4 hrs · Edited · Unlike · 1

    Camelia Elias: Maybe you will. Let me know when you are in Copenhagen, and I’ll cast a circle for you.
    3 hrs · Like

    Dana Komjaty: Well i must come then, to Copenhagen especially for that..
    3 hrs · Like

    Camelia Elias: That would be grand.
    3 hrs · Like

    Dana Komjaty: But if you ever travel to Amsterdam, i hope you will let me know and i will cast a circle in your honor
    3 hrs · Unlike · 1

    Camelia Elias: How wonderful. I bow to you. I would like that very much.
    3 hrs · Like

    Markus Pfeil: I was wondering what, for me, would be special in a circle reading, as I do other circle things, but not yet such readings. The following came up: In the north a gate opens to the spiritual. Inspiration can flow into the material world. To the East and…See More
    Markus Pfeil’s photo.
    22 mins · Unlike · 1

    Camelia Elias: How did you set out? Was this your question for how you can make a good circle? Or did you assign these cards to the cardinal points for a message on their specific power?
    14 mins · Like · 1

    Markus Pfeil: For me circles represent, among other things the wheel of the year and the elements, thus, to ask what a circle would bring to a reading, as in what the added value for me would be (in concrete terms of the reading). I then put down one card for each element, or cardinal point. Interesting to see that water and air are in tune, whereas earth and fire are swapped (in my attribution set at least…)
    9 mins · Edited · Like

    Camelia Elias: Give me the value of the cards as I can only make out the 10S, and tell me exactly which goes to what point. Then I can tell you what I think. I have an idea but I want to make sure I got the cards right, as I can see that you posed the question from the other end, so to speak. Sorry to be so pedantic.

    Markus Pfeil: 10 of clubs in the north, 7 of spades in the east, ace of diamonds in the south, five of hearts in the west. Nothing to excuse yourself for.
    17 mins · Like

    Markus Pfeil: Oh and I have Earth in the north, Air in the east, fire in the south and water in the west,
    17 mins · Like

    Camelia Elias: Why do you have Air in the East, Water in the West, and Fire in the South? All wrong. LOL. Ok, judgement aside, here’s what I’d say. Starting with the North, as we all good magical circles. Make sure you put your staff there first. The first club, so to speak. So now you have 10 of them. This means, ‘done deal’. Lots of work, but it’s accomplished already. So the circle can bring into your reading assuredness (by air, as for me the clubs are air) that is grounded already into the earth. 7 spades in this context is the magic, not tears, the mystery of fire (for me, or air for you (still wrong, revise your perception)). So far then the circle will bring your readings grounded, yet lofty assuredness of the mystery of what is challenging. Ace of Diamonds brings a flood of warm messages (as Diamonds for me is fire and South is water and summer). The circle will then cool off your readings with a breeze of sheer personal pleasure for all involved. The assurance of work is supported by the Ace (North and South), while the mystery of challenging questions gets to tingle everyone in avery personal way. A sexy way, if I may add. All cool. Go for it.

    Enrique Enriquez:

    hosting (host in g)

    h = chair

    o = circle

    (watch for the sting!)
    12 mins · Unlike · 1

    Camelia Elias: Yes, Enrique. You never know what comes through via all those points. But a circle is not a cross. The art is to swirl the cardinal points. I like to get a sense of just how good I’m at that. How strong the impression of what I’m doing is, commanding the points to work with me, but in a voice that submits to these geometries, rather than overpower them.
    2 secs · Like

Leave a Reply

