KULTRUN

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 1.13.48 PM

Marcos Rodriquez, soundscape man and shaman from Chile at the Body, Mind, Soul Fair in Copenhagen, watching me banging on his drums:

– ‘Where are you from? You don’t look Danish.’

– ‘I’m from Romania.’

– ‘A Romanian witch.’

– ‘I wouldn’t go so far.’

– ‘You are what you are, and what you are catches up with you. If you’re not a witch, you’re a magician.’

– ‘Wise words, my man.’

– ‘And your friend over there is one too. A witch’.

– ‘That’s my sister. She’s good.’

– ‘Yes, but you’re more dangerous.’

– ‘Like you said: We are what we are.’

– ‘This drum that you’ve spotted. It’s the only real deal I have. Made by a Mapuche medicine woman. A witch. You can have it for a special price. From a witch to another witch’.

– ‘I’ll take it. The Romanian witches are serious, you know.’

– ‘I know.’

§

The moral of this story: If you’re in doubt as to what you are, or lack clarity in terms of what your purpose in life is, hit a fair like this. You will be spotted, and sometimes surprised at people’s insights about you. And sometimes they can even be dead on.

Saturnalia activity: Bang on the Mapuche Kultrún and sing the blessings of the Black Moon. The drum was, after all, paid for at the exact setting time of the Black Moon. As the man said, ‘if you are not a witch, then you’re a magician.’ I’ll take that.

Enjoy your soundscapes.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Always thought of you as a Sybil, but there you go…Witch… Yeah, I can see that…

    • People have many names for many things. In terms of ‘being’ anything I don’t subscribe to any name. The reason for this is because I see how names are abused all the time. I don’t call myself a Sybil, a fortuneteller, or a witch because all of this carries with it the obligation to hold a promise to deliver whatever it is that people think you have to deliver. And that’s the trouble, namely, that you end up delivering not what you ‘are’ or what you ‘can’ actually perform, but what people want to hear. I can’t run away from my professional job at the university, because I get paid to call myself what I was hired to perform. But as far as the other functions I might also perform, I prefer to call them nothing. This way I’m free of having to invent things such as ‘accuracy’ in fortunetelling, ‘greater happiness’ after spell casting, and fascinating messages from the dead in necromancy. I leave the claims to all these things to others who have no problems calling themselves all sorts of funny names. In a way I guess these names come with the territory, but let’s just say that while I like the territory, I prefer to take a marginal position where the naming of what I’m doing is concerned.

      • Totally agree with you. Names should only be used to remind us of our potential, and not as a guarantee of anything.
        But now I feel like I have to define the word Sybil. For me, it means much more than simple fortune-telling. It means someone who has a very deep understanding of the rhythms of consciousness, instinct and the telluric forces which shape this world.

      • Ah, there you go. I like that. Thanks.

  2. rohinibabe@aol.com February 3, 2014 — 10:17 pm

    Hahaha!

    Yes,I find people in New York can oftentimes SEE me too.

    When are you coming to new York? Maralyn

Leave a Reply

