TOAD WISDOM

The advantage of taking sacred objects out of their reliquaries and placing them before your cards, if reading cards is what you want to do on a quiet evening, is that it makes you consider the function of these objects beyond the ritual of ‘I swear that I’m having a sublime time right now’. Some smart folks long before us have figured out that the reason why we want to read cards, look at the simplicity of their message, is because they help us to know ourselves.  Every time I lay down three cards, I swear that I’m having a ‘know thyself’ moment.

But tonight, seeing through the eyes of my toad’s skull, I can see that there’s more to knowledge:

Feel yourself, and throne in your house.

That’s the message that the Five of Hearts, the Ace of Hearts and the Queen of Hearts give me. Indeed, feeling ‘being’ is what spirit work is all about. The toad is one of the most sensitive creatures on the planet. Its skin captures everything. And I swear that I can hear my house breathing.

Screen Shot 2013-10-26 at 10.12.34 PM

Screen Shot 2013-10-26 at 10.12.18 PM

§

Note on the deck and items:

Otto Tragy Jugendstil Spielkarte, Ver. Stralsunder Altenburg, 1910.

Toad reliquary by Sarah Anne Lawless, 2013.

Leave a Reply

