LAETITIA’S ORACLE

The sun is shining and I’m waiting for guests. My sister and her partner will join us in the Swedish woods for a week. While waiting for them to hit the place, and getting somewhat impatient, I decide to use an interesting little deck of cards made in the 40s, and get a sense of what theme may emerge. I have on my mind some projects that my sister and I are good at – apart from reading cards, which she is an adept at. In using Laetitia’s Oracle, it is not necessary to pose a question, as this oracle is so designed as to be very precise on what will happen. As often with oracles, you don’t need to interpret anything.

I decided to do Laetitia’s version of a 13-card spread out of the several that she indicates in her little pamphlet that comes with the cards.

THE METHOD

Shuffle the cards and spread them in a horse-shoe style. Look for the predominant color. As this oracle follows the French method, the meaning of the suits are different than in the method that I prefer. Here the cups are good, the clubs are fortunate, the diamonds indicate misfortune, and the spades death and malice. After determining the predominant color that gives us an indication of what preoccupies the querent, the idea is to pair the cards, beginning from the margins and inward. The first card must be pared with the last and so on. The card in the middle, the 13th is the surprise; the card that I like to think of as looking on and towards what unfolds.

Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 5.23.11 PM

Laetitia also instructs that the card on the left leads the oracle. These are the talking cards (parlante). The idea is to take their primary meaning (and we use reversals here) and pair it with the card next to it. But we only use this neighbouring card for its suit, not for its meaning. For instance, if the card next to the Queen of Hearts is a Spade, then we must read the oracular line for spades on the talking card. In my example below The Queen of Hearts will experience a change in her chagrins.

Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 5.23.00 PM

The other important thing look for is groups of 3 or 4 cards of the same numerical value. In my example below, the 3 Queens suggest a situation of criticism, malice, and bad talk. Along with 3 Jacks emphasizing discussions among parents, and sentimental rivalries, I can already begin to guess what my sister and I will be doing apart from being creative (lucky I’m not a parent myself, or else god only knows what competitive advice on good parenting I might come up with).

Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 10.36.28 PM

Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 10.37.07 PM

THE READING

With the outlook on the situation thus generally determined, let us look more closely at what the individual lines, one for each pair, indicates:

Personal sorrows of a friendly blond lady are receding (Q♥/10♠).

The deceptive situation improves (9♥R/V♦).

A lying and deceiving young man will fail in his intrigues (V♠R/K ♣).

Little delicate problems, of a melancholic nature, are to be resolved. There are misunderstandings. Or signs of fatigue, and nervous depression (7♠/K♠).

Small news, but bad are on the way. One can expect contrariness and anger. Some unwilling spending will also occur (7♦R/9♣).

An energetic brunette likes to protect and devote herself to her beloved and her surroundings (Q♣/J♥R).

The surprise: A perfidious woman presides over the events (Q♦R).

Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 5.26.09 PM

THE PRECEDENT

I can testify that all of this can happen, as a precedent has been established. My sister is a strong-headed woman, but also the most loving and fun to be with. This is a weird combination that often leaves me baffled. Even after more than 40 together I’m still trying to figure out how my sister can be all embracing and also in opposition all the time.

Meanwhile we have the woods. Perhaps I can climb up a tree and try to distance myself from whatever enervating situation, should it arise. Having a high vista on things may be a good idea.

Check with me in a week to find out if Letitia’s Oracle spoke the truth.

Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 5.13.43 PM

Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 5.13.59 PM

§

Oracle Laetitia, Rue Heron, Bordeaux, 1940.

NEWSLETTER

For words of power and other unexpected offers, sign up for a cool monthly newsletter.

Leave a Reply

