PAUL’S KEY

Camelia Elias, Paul's Key, ink on paper, medieval key, and oracle cards, 2013
Camelia Elias, Paul’s Key, ink on paper, medieval key, and oracle cards, 2013

Today it’s my nephew’s birthday. Paul turned 19. 19 adds to 10. 1+0 for new beginnings and then a jump into the void. I wish Paul all the best with making the best of it, indeed.

He called me. I didn’t call him. ‘I’m making a cake,’ he said. ‘Are you coming over?’ ‘No, I’m not’, I said. ‘I abhor anniversaries.’ ‘Yes, my dear auntie,’ he said winking.

I sat down and read cards for him. I made a card myself. I fiddled with some filters on my iphone, and ta da, there it was, the message that I wanted to convey. Something with a castle in the sky. The key to it, and then some propulsion through space. But the key is important. It’s the link to the earth.

Sometimes I spend money on ebay buying what others might call ‘junk’. So I have a lot of junk in my house. I rummaged through my junk today to find a key for Paul. I did. I got this one from an archeologist working for a museum in Holland. It’s from the 1300s. Old enough. A key for the castle in the sky, earthbound.

Happy birthday, Paul. I’ll come to kiss you tomorrow, or some other day.

Your devoted ‘auntie’ C.

Camelia Elias, Paul's Key, ink on paper, medieval key, and oracle cards, 2013
Camelia Elias, Paul’s Key, ink on paper, medieval key, and oracle cards, 2013
§
Note on the deck: Tantric Dakini Oracle by Nick Douglas and Penny Slinger, 1979, Destiny Books.
Leave a Reply

