ACED MOON

Today is the day of a super moon. Or as others put it, the day of the super-duper moon. Without going either with the super or duper, I thought, however, of doing a reading for myself and asking the cards what they thought about a book project that a few friends have been enticing me to embark on. My concrete question went to the Council of 13:

What does the council advice about this particular writing project?

The reading protocol for the cards is as follows, with the subsequent pairing in their numerical progression 2+3, 4+5, and so on (for more elaborate info on this, see my post here).

council13

aced-moon

The written word (A♦) takes center stage. A grand opportunity for this work is in the house (A♣ /A♥; also A♣ modified by 8♣ and 5♥ indicates a labor of love that I do entirely for my own pleasure).

A suspicious youth that prompts the project is playing a trick on me (J♠ / Joker). Yet, a decision is made to follow the path of the heart (A♠ / 6♥). There is an increasing wish to share the book with friends (3♥ / 9♥) in spite of potential sabotaging of the work (6♠ / J♠ /8♣).

A wrong premise for the work leads, however, to personal pleasure (6♠ / 5♥), with the consequence of the work aggravating an already existing problem with a third party (8♣ / 3♠). Or we could say that the work (8♣) becomes a pain (3♠) in someone’s ace (A♠).

Three aces came out in the first three moves, respectively A♦ A♥ A♣, which, statistically speaking is quite astonishing. The fact that the fourth ace, A♠, came out aligned with the other 3 in the 6th move has astronomical odds, so we could already call this a wrap. But what kind of a wrap? Traditionally, we have two options, to see the presence of 4 Aces as a total triumph or a total disaster. But then, since when am I interested in tradition? In the card reading-world today tradition is being diluted as we speak, with people claiming many things in the name of tradition, so I entertain very little desire to fall for unfounded opinions. Hence I follow no tradition à la mode. If we leave claims to knowledge aside, I can, however understand the claim to tradition as it relates to cash. As a friend of mine has recently observed, ‘there’s cash in tradition,’ and that’s why we see such an upsurge of it everywhere. But we are not here to investigate into people’s motives. As they say, live and let live. I merely use this example as it says something about my own position vis-à-vis takes on tradition. I’m not interested in tradition if we can’t account for where it comes from, what it does for us, and whether it’s useful. Consequently, this makes me conclude the following about my aces: 4 of them in my hand is pretty damned good. This conclusion is obviously based on my basic knowledge of playing cards, so I’ll go with that, rather than join the lot that makes resort to claiming knowledge in the name of potentially obscure knowledge that one has just had the privilege of digging up from a well of as yet unknown resources, resources that one is now generously also sharing with the world.

But let’s see what else we can say about this spread. For once, I should mention that I’m quite intrigued by the presence of the Joker here, as I didn’t intend to shuffle the deck with it in it. But there the Joker is, a result of my amnesia, and we must take it into account. The cluster of the black cards on the left hand side of the spread, 6♠ / A♠ / 3♠, tells me that this project may be initiated as a result of seeing an insecure, or self-deprecating youth sabotaging the already existing writing (A♦ is literally a letter), and coming from a place that’s fraught with fallacies and erroneous ways (6♠ / J♠). In my line of work I see this happening all the time, with students being suspicious of their professors, so I don’t feel thoroughly disturbed by the fact that students think that they know everything. Good luck to them. Here, however, we can actually see that the last line that closes the X in the final pairing, and which may indicate loss of work (8♣ to 3♠) actually refers to this situation: The work that is a labor of love following the path of the heart (read the cluster 8♣ / 6♥ / 5♥) actually has the function to aggravate a little whatever begins on the basis of wrong intent from the provoker (read thus as a continuous cluster 8♣ / 3♠ / A♠ / 6♠ / J♠). All fine with me, if I cannot avoid stabbing the ways of the ones who don’t get it. The X lines here disclose quite a bit of interesting information, as it’s clear that if there’s pleasure (5♥) in writing this particular book then it comes from an unexpected premise of negative assumption (6♠ / 5♥).

Apart from the astonishing aces, which here I also take as a statement on engaging with this project for better or worse, what I like about this spread is the fact that it’s divided equally between the red and the black cards, with the Joker in the middle row as the shadow of the disturbed youth who, in spite of everything, contributes to taking the aces for a ride for the sheer pleasure of it. The Joker can, of course, also be the querent herself, but to impose that reading on the card would be to miss the point of play. The Joker as the wild card remains elusive. Its name is surprise. But we also have another surprise card here, as with any spreads we throw, in the form of the bottom card of the cut deck. If we care to look at it, we can get an idea as to what awaits around the corner, or in this case here, what we might make of the situation after the council leaves the coven. 5♦ tells me that whatever benefit there may ensue from such an undertaking as the writing of yet another book, I will spend it all on myself.

A grand thank you to the super-duper moon is in order, not only for fixing things astronomically, but also for letting me know why we do what we do.

§

Note on the deck: Dondorf, No 163, Frankfurt, 1915

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Dear Camelia, again, a marvelous interpretation. The row of Aces is striking and yet left me thinking about how likely it would be to get. Especially in the light of ever present confirmation bias, whence we like to think about how extraordinary exactly THIS configuration ist. Therefore I decided to go back to my roots (in Sesame Street….I am the Count and I like to Count. Count von Count) and I counted …First of all I counted out the probabilty of your exact configuration (or rather the specific string of 4 aces, not regarding which ace is which in the row of 4). Odds for this in a 52 card pack and the layout are 1:270.725. Then I counted how many such auspicious placements of 4 cards we would recognize. So any string of 4 aces next to each other (these occur twice on each of the 5 card axes) as well as having two aces left and right, or above and below the centre. Then three placements where the aces are either the outermost 4 cards, or the four corners of the sqare or the four cards right left above and below the centre….so I counted nine placements where we might go Wow!. So, the combined probability of getting any of those is roughly 1:30000. Which would mean that you are not very likely to get many during 30 years of doing 2 readings a week.

    Of course this is not really important as synchronizity will not be captured by statistics, but it feels nice to be sure that it really is a super-moonlikely display….

    • How excellent, my Count von Count. Such delicious fun to see all these numbers. I love numbers, and the higher the better. Now, however, go back to counting, as this was a 53 card pack. You forgot the Joker. So, let’s hear it again. I’m curious.

      Ah, and I also forgot to say that I found it rather nice that the 6th movement’s Ace, the Ace of Spades mirrors a 6, the 6 of hearts. From black heart to red heart. Good.

  2. But the rules say: “Remove the Joker before playing, lest he’d fool you”. Argh. Luckily this Count used to C his ount who coun(t)selled to save all counts and not count chickens before or after hatching…so I have gone to modify….thus the basic chance for the 4 aces in a row moves up to 1:292.825. To find any of the nine is now 1:32536. Which is conspicuously close to the probability of doing this reading for a client with a fire sign (about 1/4 of the year) on a supermoon (about 1/year….)…of course only if you were completely unaware of supermoons and astrology while chosing the day for the reading 🙂

  3. Fantacetic.

  4. Camelia, this is a really nice one. It starts warm and ends warm. Don’t worry if it cools of a little bit in the middle. Just remember baking. Don’t take the thing out of the oven until your are sure the heart is cooked.

Leave a Reply

