ENTITLEMENT

‘Yes, but he said . . .’  Or ‘yes, but she said . . .’ We recognize these phrases as we meet them every day. Often they express frustration with what other people demand, based on a sense of entitlement for which there is  no basis. Ask me, and I can deliver plenty of stories. My favorite one comes from my line of work – I teach at Roskilde University – and it expresses the way in which students ventriloquize the dominant governmental discourse. We have rights, we are entitled to this or that, we demand this or that. All very good. But I have a problem with entitlement for the sake of entitlement. I don’t like it that students are entitled to a good education, but not all of them think that they are equally entitled to not waste my time with their not thinking that they are also entitled to come to the classes prepared. My philosophy has always been this one: whatever you are entitled to, make sure you do your part too. Then we can talk.

As I often encounter this type of situation, ‘I feel that I’m entitled to . . .’ based on the belief that a querent thinks he is entitled to a specific kind of treatment, I’ve devised a spread called Entitlement, mainly for use in readings with playing-cards. But mind you, you’re welcome to use it with other cards too: tarot, Lenormand, or other oracles, it you find it inspiring.

I think that this spread is particularly good for readers who can hear where their clients come from in terms of how they pose their questions and whether this question is steeped into some unreasonable expectation. Correcting people in the middle of a divorce in terms of how useful is to feel entitled to this or that is a lame exercise, so, I thought that the card world could use a spread like that, where we can let the cards ‘say it’.

Here’s an example:

I’m reading for a divorced man. I did not choose any significator, but it was nice of the cards to let him pop in my spread as the Jack of Spades. Now, bear in mind that this spread is not devised to go against any rightful entitlement, but to settle what we can do for a ‘sense’ of entitlement that’s not really justified. Children and immature people (the Jacks) often cannot justify their sense of entitlement, so we are here forewarned. However, be ready for surprises. Sometimes the cards can indicate that there’s symmetry between the sense of entitlement and the reality of expectation, and other times, ‘lord have mercy.’ It’s good that the cards in the spread can indicate what the querent gets in spite of what the person thinks he or she is entitled to get.

So here we go. A line of 7 cards that says ‘I feel that I’m entitled to this’ is crossed by a line of 3 that says, ‘but I’m going to get this.’

ENTITLEMENT

This being a line of 7 cards, we stick to the traditional way of reading, namely linearly. We still read the cards in trios, however. So we read first the 1+2+3 cards, then the 5+6+7, and then the ‘what you get cards,’ the cross across the 7, namely the 8, 4, 9 cards.

We read the center card first to see what the sense of entitlement is all about. In this case here, work. A major change in work (9C). This is a straight-forward reading, and I can tell right from the beginning of our line that our Jack of Spades, after parting with the Queen of Diamonds, whom he feels entitled to cut a dubious deal with, is now after compensations. Not monetary compensations, but for work. He is intent on scheming (8S) for public office (8C). I asked him the following questions: ‘Are you going for a new job for which you have to compete with others?’ His answer was yes. ‘Are you honest about your ways?’ He kept silent. Well a Jack of Spade would keep silent about his strategies. Fine by me. Now, for the outcome. It looks like our Jack will meet his match in the form of a Queen of Hearts. He wants to screw her, but she will give him the coup de grâce.

This wasn’t what the Jack of Spades wanted to hear. But then, let’s face it. In life, sometimes we go up, and sometimes we go down. Meanwhile, it can be helpful to know what we feel entitled to, and whether there’s any justification for this entitlement. Of course, sometimes we can get lucky and get away with it. But still, I believe that knowing what we demand, why, in whose name, and what for, is a good idea. So, don’t feel shy about putting some of your clients on the spot. They might even thank you for it.

Good luck.

§

For a basic theory of reading with playing-cards, see my post here.

§

Note on the deck: Dondorf, 1890.

NEWSLETTER

For words of power and other unexpected offers, sign up for a cool monthly newsletter.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love the spread! Your entitlement is just crossed out! This desperado you read for is really accounted for by the Eagles here:
    Don’t you draw the queen of diamonds, boy
    She’ll beat you if she’s able
    You know the queen of hearts is always your best bet
    Now it seems to me, some fine things
    Have been laid upon your table
    But you only want the ones that you can’t get

    And it apperars there are two ladies on the table but scant a red card….

  2. David Cunningham June 20, 2013 — 4:03 am

    HI CAMELIA I THINK YOU ARE A VERY GOOD READER! AND YOU ARE PRETTY WHAT IS THE COMBO FOR TV?

    • Thanks David. I don’t do ‘combos’ outside of the context of a question, so I discourage any reader to do ‘combos’ for the sake doing ‘combos’. But let’s say you asked this: ‘where did I put my keys?’ If I saw this trio: 3♠, 10♣, 6♦, I would say this: ‘you can find them on top of your TV.’ Now the reasoning: 3♠ indicates a loss, something decreases, 10♣ can indicate appliances, many wires, plus here, the top of something. The club also lets us know that we’re dealing with air circulation. What comes through the air? 6♦. This can indicate vision at a distance, the 6 is a path. Of diamond, a path of the intellect. So, visual ideas that come from a distance and go through wires can easily be located in your TV box. Hence, you may find what you’ve lost on top of it. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

