MAJORS AND MINORS IN LENORMAND

Yes/no questions are always a favorite among people who seek philosophizing with a hammer. Here’s what I often do when I have to answer quick yes/no questions. I do a three-card reading because I like to see a synthesis emerging. The pattern recognition that I’m after, however, does not rely so much on doing arithmetics of the kind that I often hear others do (if you get 2 negative cards the answer is no, if you get two positive cards the answer is yes, with some variation on the order in which the positives and the negatives fall).

A simple method is to think of the positive cards as being ‘charged’ with a major power, while the negative cards as being charged with a minor power. So the big ones eat the small ones. Now, of course, while some may argue that seeing the scythe slashing a heart may be a major issue, the truth of the matter is that the scythe doesn’t care what you think. For the scythe your heartbreak is a bagatelle.

So here’s a series of suggestions, inspired by actual yes/no questions that people pose. The cards are, of course, drawn at random, following the topic in question. First the cards:

Screen Shot 2013-03-22 at 11.15.27 PM

Mice, House, Star

Q: Is my mortgage too high?

A: No, you speculate too much (major thing for you (mice + house), minor thing for the bank (house + star)).

. . . . . .

Screen Shot 2013-03-22 at 11.15.46 PM

Clover, Moon, Ship

Q: Does he still love me?

A: It’s a tall tale that he tells himself (major thing for you (moon + ship), minor thing for him (clover + ship)).

. . . . . .

Screen Shot 2013-03-22 at 11.16.04 PM

Child, Woman, Mountain

Q: Are the children pestering me?

A: Yes, heavily (minor thing for them (child + woman), major thing for you (woman + mountain)).

. . . . . .

Screen Shot 2013-03-22 at 11.16.18 PM

Mice, Moon, Man

Q: Is my life boring?

A: Yes, you consume yourself with small and grand illusions. Make up your mind (major thing for you (moon + man), minor thing for the suckers of the limelight (mice + moon)).

. . . . . .

Screen Shot 2013-03-22 at 11.16.31 PM

Clouds, Tower, Book

Q: Can I defeat my enemy?

A: Yes. You watch the atmosphere closely from your lighthouse and put a spell on him (major thing for him (clouds + tower), minor thing for you (tower + book)).

Good luck with your hammering, or go read some Anne Carson.

On Major and Minor

Major things are wind, evil, a good fighting horse, prepositions, inexhaustible love, the way people choose their king. Minor things include dirt, the name of schools of philosophy, mood and not having a mood, the correct …time. There are more major things than minor things over all, yet there are more minor things than I have written here, but it is disheartening to list them. When I think of you reading this, I do not want you to be taken captive, separated by a wire mesh lined with glass from your life itself, like some Elektra.

. . . . . .

Note on the deck: The Lenormand Oracle: Erwin Kohlmann / Oswin Volkamer, Verlag fuer die Frau, Leipzig 1982.

NEWSLETTER

For words of power and other unexpected offers, sign up for a cool monthly newsletter.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Camelia,I was enthralled by these readings by you.
    They open a large door….!

  2. Really great information! This actually came up this week in a Lenormand class I taught. People were wondering if you could ask yes/no questions. One thing I suggest is that you remember that you are asking yes/no… and nothing else. But I really love your approach. It gives insight into the yes/no. Very thought provoking answers as well 🙂

    Shaheen

    • Thanks Shaheen. It’s good to hear that you can use the approach. Where fortunetelling is concerned, and I really don’t make any difference between the tools, I seek to strike a balance between the way in which we must demystify whatever concerns the sitter and the way in which what we say makes the sitter think about it.

      • I totally agree. I like that you approach every tool in a similar manner. I understand that every tool has a different “soul” so to speak, but you as the reader need to understand how you are coming to it. And I have to agree that it’s best to bring things across to your client in a clear and concise way that they can relate to. Thanks again for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

