TAROT GOES ACADEMIC

About a year ago I was eating oysters with K. Frank Jensen, a collector and historian of playing cards and oracle cards. Frank had just backed out of a potential deal to bequest his collection of tarot cards to a big tarot organization. ‘No money should be involved. No commercialization of cards. Only research,’ he said. ‘How about Roskilde University Library?’ I asked, in an attempt to offer a solution to a seemingly impossible task: To offer an institution, for the purpose of research, what is considered the largest and most significant collection of Tarot cards (and more) in the world decreeing that the institution is not to make money off knowledge. ‘Asking around costs nothing,’ I said to Frank, to which he replied: ‘then do it.’

First I met with Martin Bayer, the head of my department, the Institute of Culture and Identity, where I myself research into American studies, particularly esoteric, sacred and secret texts, Tarot as cultural text, and divination as a cultural praxis. ‘Tarot cards?’, asked Martin, ‘what’s that?’ I took my tarot pack from my purse – one which I always have with me, a French deck made by master cartier Jean Noblet in 1650 – I laid 3 cards on the table, and showed him. ‘Whoa,’ Martin said, ‘this is quite amazing.’ Indeed it is, I said. What I have here, in these 3 cards, is not only an answer to your question, but also history. You find in a tarot pack everything, from divination to art history, philosophy, hermetic philosophy, culture, high and low, occultism, semiotics and science; all the things we do in our department. ‘Let’s do it,’ Martin said. ‘Let’s have this gold mine in the house, and take it from there.’ With the Rector’s blessing, we proceeded to convince the Library of the value of such a collection for research.

On December 21 Frank signed the bequest papers, and his collection now belongs to the university. At the signing of the document, Frank brought a few rare decks and books, among them a Mayan Tarot pack. We all liked the idea that what the Mayans predicted was for us a very good omen, namely, not the end of the world on December 21st 2012, as popular belief had it, but the shift to a new consciousness represented by a new sun, new knowledge and new illumination. What we all hope now is that students and researchers, both at Roskilde University and worldwide, will soon discover what a gift Frank made.

The collection is set up under the name of K. Frank Jensen Collection, and it has a board of directors consisting of 5 members. I had the honor of being appointed by Martin Bayer as the president of the collection, and now I look forward to collaborating on future research projects with all interested. I’m already planning our first Tarot conference due to take place this year, and which will mark the opening of the collection. Reputed scholars of Tarot have already been invited, and we look forward to honoring Frank’s request for ‘No money. Only knowledge.’ I see this as a great opportunity for Roskilde University to be as revolutionary as it has always been by promoting research into matters that counter the current discourse about having academics behave like business people.

Diving into situated wisdoms, which is what I call what Tarot cards represent, is a way of promoting self-knowledge in context. Such knowledge is and should be independent of clichés that make us forget what the purpose of higher education is all about: not to make money, not to pretend to make a global impact, not to promote meaningless visibility, but to participate in the creation of a decent human being.

9257 k frank jensen 9277 camelia elias - witta tarotkort i ramme 9203 martin beyer- camelia elias

SKÅL!

skull-frank-original

§

UPDATE: At the time I left the university, on March 1, 2017, the university had acquired 50 percent of the collection. Frank was in the process of helping with releasing it to the library according to a system of cataloguing it according to his own devices. When he died in September 2016, this process stalled. As I am not related to the collection anymore, I cannot predict to what extent Frank’s dream will be realized. But I can say this: without the missing 50 percent of the collection, which is the most valuable 50 percent, the beautiful vision cannot be sustained.

§

For the Danish version of this story published in RucNyt, go to the press release here.

§

Note on the cards that the journalist selected for RucNyt:

Ayrshire Witches Tarot. Ouroboros, Denmark 1995/2011. Art by John Upton, Scotland, colouring by K. Frank Jensen, Denmark. Here is also what Frank writes about this in Manteia #13, February 1995, pg. 6-8, ‘A Standard Witches Pattern?’ “As a contribution to my ongoing yearly mailart projects ‘Mail Artist‘s Tarot’ (1993-1996), the Scotish artist and mail artist, John Upton sent me in 1995 the original line drawings for a 78 card tarot deck he had drawn to be used in a Gardnerian Witchcraft Coven, based in Ayrshire, in which he was the High Priest. According to a tradition each coven has to create their own tarot deck to be used in the coven work, and which illustrates more or less the coven‘s secret rituals. The original line art was copied so all members, who wanted so, could colour their own copy, and the original line drawings ended up with me. I decided to make a colour version too and settled on an overall green and pink tone, since most coven rituals took place nude and out of doors.”

NEWSLETTER

Stay in the loop. Join The Art of Reading. Get a gift: Read Like the Devil: A Crash Course.

16 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I’m very happy that this important collection has a good home, Camelia, both for Mr. Jensens’ sake and for the University’s sake. Congratulations.

  2. Congratulations on making Tarot history and preserving the history of Tarot.

  3. NO MONEY ONLY KNOWLEDGE

    NOM ON EY ON LY K NOW L’ EDGE

    (hey, your name licks the edge of my lips, now)

  4. Frank is not kidding. That I can tell you. They don’t make people like him anymore.

  5. rohinibabe@aol.com February 10, 2013 — 5:38 am

    Bravo.

  6. Hopefully this will inspire other collectors to consider Roskilde in their bequests so that soon you will have a world-famous important research collection!

  7. Perhaps some of the books might be scanned, translated (if necessary) and made available as a PDF. Frank could have made a lot of money had he chose to sell off his collection on eBay. How wonderful he decided to benefit many instead of just a few.

  8. I quite like the idea of this donation to further knowledge rather than greed.

    I was angry at a review Frank did years ago of the Golden Tarot by Kat Black, but I have come to see that he might have been right in his assessment of a few things that get more prevalent and cheesy in decks as the years fly by.

    So Frank, you’re a good guy after all, and I like it when people donate things to libraries, institutions that have been my life’s passion.

    I’ll be interested to see what exhibits and such you host with the collection. I agree totally that the old medieval viewpoint of universities as places that build a human’s knowledge, curiosity, and character has been almost lost to us. Good to see some support for that still exists.

    • Thanks for this. I’ll pass it on to Frank. He is a man who appreciates fairness and integrity. He himself possesses both these traits, to our delight, as these have also been lost to us along the years. But yes, there are good people out there, still, so we work for them. When the collection will be in the house, some time over the summer, we’ll put together a plan for all sorts. I’ll keep people informed.

  9. I shall be looking forward to all that arises out of this collection and its prominent place in Roskilde University. If there is an event, please, let me have time to come 🙂

Leave a Reply

